Visiting the Sick……



Lincoln was paying one of his frequent visits to a hospital for soldiers. He would walk from ward to ward and cheer and sympathise with the patients. He came to the bedside of a young soldier who was dying..and he asked, “well, my boy, what can I do for you?”

The lad looked up and expressed a wish, “Will you write to my mother for me?”
“That I will,” Lincoln agreed and called for paper and pen. He sat down beside the cot and wrote what the boy dictated. Finished, he turned to the boy and said, “I’ll mail this from my office as soon as I get back. And now is there anything else I can do?” The boy looked up, hesitated, and finally blurted out, “Could you stay with me? I want you to hold my hand.” Lincoln did until he died some hours later.

I look to the mountains; where will my help come from? My help will come from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. ..The protector of Israel never dozes or sleeps.
(The Bible, Psalms 121:1).

Leave a Reply

