Why Am I afraid to die?


Death snares me with its squinted eyes,

sometimes with nightmares of lethal  diseases,

like heart-attacks and sudden strokes.

The encumbrances of the world,

which queue in me  to be shouldered to maturity;

The dreams  and aspirations of my ego,

being unfulfilled pull me to the earth.

Although the heaven above is fascinating,

The lusty earth heaves with muddy hands.

Although life after death is paradise for me,

The craving mind lug me to secular solaces.

The gorgeous comforts of money and power,

create  irresistible yearning  for them.

The death alarms scare me every day.

Leave a Reply

