Honesty is the best policy


Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom–Thomas Jefferson
Honesty is given the following connotations and meanings in the dictionary.
  1. the quality or fact of being honest; uprightness and fairness.
  2. Truthfulness, sincerity, or frankness.

3. Freedom from deceit or fraud.

  1. Botany. a plant, Lunaria annua, of the mustard family, having clusters of purple flowers and semitransparent, satiny pods.

5. Obsolete.

 An episode

One of two women riding on a bus suddenly realized she hadn’t paid her fare. “I’ll go right and pay it,” she said.
“Why bother?” her companion replied, “You got away with it, so what?”
“I’ve found that honesty always pays,” the other said virtuously, and went up to pay the driver.
“See, I told you honesty pays!” she said when she returned, “I handed the driver 20  cents and he gave me 50 cents change,”
What the  Bible says
 
I ask you, God, to let me have two things before I die; keep me from lying, and let me be neither rich nor poor. So give me only as much food as I need. If I have more, I might say that I do not need you. But if I am poor, I might steal and bring disgrace on my God. (Proverb 30:7-9).
Warren Buffet
Warren Buffet once said, “honesty is expensive and that you can’t expect from cheap people. “
Real life example
Recently I have read about an auto Rickshaw driver who got a wallet contained Rupees 8,000,00 and returned to the owner. There are such instances of sincerity and honesty in the world now. However, the value of honesty is gradually deteriorating.
Benefits of honesty.
One thought on “Honesty is the best policy

  1. Pingback: Honesty Feeds the Soul | The Scattered Daisy

Leave a Reply

